2019 – 2022 Member, Astronomy & Astrophysics Advisory Committee (AAAC) that advises NASA, NSF and DoE.

2017 – 2022 Member, International Advisory Board for the Higgs Center for Theoretical Physics, University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, U.K.

2015 – 2018 Member, Advisory Board on Gender Equity of International Association of Research Universities (IARU).

Fall 2019 Member of the jury for the PEN E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Prize.

Fall 2018 Member of the jury for the JCB Literary Prize.


2020 Member of the MIT Alumni Advisory Group for the Task Force on 2021 and Beyond.

2019 Member, Selection Committee for the Inaugural Higgs Chair in Theoretical Physics at the University of Edinburgh.

2018 – Chaired the Time Allocation Committee for the Hubble Space Telescope to award time to proposals, oversaw the first dual-anonymous selection process in the physical sciences.

2015 – 2019 Chair line of the Division of Astrophysics (DAP) of the American Physical Society (APS), Organized DAP Sessions at the Annual APS Meeting (2017), Chair of DAP (2018).

2014 Member of the MIT Alumni Advisory Group for the Institute-wide Task Force on the Future of MIT Education, report is here.

Referee for Nature, Science, The Astrophysical Journal, Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society, Publications of the Astronomical Society for the Pacific, Journal of Cosmology and Astrophysics, Physical Review Letters. Expert reviewer for the award of research grant funding for NSF, NASA, STScI, Danish Research Council, ERC (Europe) and STFC (U.K.).