Ladder of matrimony

description below

A semi-comic gift card showing the eight stages of matrimony: Possession, Rumination, Alteration, Irritation, Disputation, Desperation, Detestation, and Separation. Each stage is described with four lines of verse and with vignette scenes of a husband and wife.

  • Title: [Ladder of matrimony] [graphic].
  • Publication: London : Published by R. Miller, Lambeth, [1830s]

Catalog Record

File 66 830 L154

Acquired October 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *