(Photo by Sebastián Díaz)

Yale University’s chapter of Sigma Delta Pi, Alpha Beta Beta, was founded on March 28, 2019 under the guidance of chapter advisor, Prof. Noël Valis. Our first initiates were Prof. Rolena Adorno (Honorary Member), E. Stewart Atkins*, Katherine L. Brown*, Maria Gargiulo, Michael Glick, Stephanie Hickman, David Ortega*, Fernando Torres, and Romy Vassilev.

Sarah Glenski* (Rho Rho) served as President for the inaugural ceremony and continued in this capacity for the 2019-2020 academic year, with David Ortega serving as Vice President and Secretary. Our first year as a chapter was special in that it coincided with the centennial of the national society. To celebrate 100 years of Sigma Delta Pi, we held a poetry reading in Spanish. Since our founding, we have regularly facilitated reading group meetings, tertulias on an array of cultural topics, and other events for our chapter members and the wider Yale community.

*Graduate Student