Tim Newhouse

Tim Newhouse


Tim was born in New Hampshire and grew up in northern New England.  He received his B.A. in Chemistry from Colby College (2005) in Waterville, ME, where he was mentored by Prof. Dasan M. Thamattoor.  After moving to La Jolla, CA, he completed his Ph.D. at The Scripps Research Institute with Prof. Phil S. Baran (2010).  During his time at Scripps, he also worked in the laboratories of Prof. Donna G. Blackmond.  He then returned to the east coast for postdoctoral studies with Prof. E.J. Corey at Harvard University.  He started at Yale in 2013, and as of 2018, he is an Associate Professor at Yale University in the Department of Chemistry.




Research Objective


Develop chemical technologies and computational approaches to enable the step-efficient synthesis of structurally complex natural products with potential applications to neuroscience.



Associate Professor of Chemistry, Member Interdepartmental Neuroscience Program

Yale University, New Haven, CT, 2018-present (without tenure)


Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Member Interdepartmental Neuroscience Program

Yale University, New Haven, CT, 2013-2018



Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, 2010-13

Enantioselective organometallic methods development with E.J. Corey


Ph.D., Organic Chemistry, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA, 2006-10

Natural product synthesis with Phil S. Baran

Reaction mechanism investigation with Donna G. Blackmond


B.A., Chemistry with Honors, summa cum laude, Colby College, Waterville, ME, 2001-05

Study of reactive intermediates with Dasan M. Thamattoor


Awards and Honors

2018                Amgen Young Investigator Award

2018                Dylan Hixon ’88 Prize for Teaching Excellence

2017                ACS Academic Young Investigator

2017                Sloan Research Fellowship

2017                NSF CAREER

2015                Rosenkranz Award

2015                Thieme Chemistry Journal Award

2014                Anderson Award

2010-13           Bristol Myers Squibb Postdoctoral Fellowship

2012                Harvard Postdoctoral Award for Professional Development

2011                Reaxys PhD Prize Finalist

2008               Bristol Myers Squibb Graduate Fellowship

2008               Scripps Best Talk Award, Graduate Retreat, Chemistry

2005               The “Sarge” Award in Chemistry for departmental leadership

2005               Phi Beta Kappa Society member

2004               Wayne L. Smith Inorganic Chemistry Award

2003               Bradford P. Mundy Organic Chemistry Award

2003               Merck/AAAS Undergraduate Research Scholar