Meet the Powwow Committee!

Alanna Pyke is the current ANAAY President and Powwow Chair. She’s Kanien’kehá:ka (Mohawk) from Akwesasne, NY and helped revive the ANAAY Powwow last November after over a decade-long hiatus. Alanna is a senior in Timothy Dwight College studying Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology and hopes to continue her education in a PhD program in Genetics.

Andrew Sparkman, treasurer of ANAAY, is a senior studying Applied Mathematics. As a citizen of the Cherokee Nation, he enjoys participating in the Yale Native American Cultural Center’s Cherokee language class. He works at the Yale University Art Gallery, and has played violin in the Berkeley College Orchestra. Originally from Oklahoma, he enjoys following the Thunder, Sooners, and Cowboys.

Gabriella Blatt is the current outreach coordinator of ANAAY and a sophomore in Ezra Stiles College. She is a member of the Chippewa-Cree tribe from the Rocky Boy Indian Reservation in Montana. She is double majoring in Ethnicity, Race, and Migration and English.


Halito akvna, sv hohchifo yvt Madeleine Freeman. Oklahoma City vtta li tvk! Chahta micha Chikasha siah. Hello friends! My name is Madeleine and I am the ANAAY graphic designer. I’m also a sophomore studying history while doing premed. I’m excited for the upcoming powwow and hope you and all your friends can attend! We are working hard to bring those Native ways out here at Yale! Hope to see you there, chi pisa la chike!

Summer Sutton (Lumbee) is a PhD student in the Yale School of Architecture. Growing up as a fancy shawl dancer at powwows across the nation, she is honored to have the opportunity to be a part of the ANAAY powwow committee at Yale.


Paige Johnson is from the Blackfeet Reservation in Northern Montana and is Blackfeet and Navajo. She is a junior studying Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and hoping to become a veterinarian. This is her second year on the Powwow Committee.


Meghanlata Gupta is a sophomore from the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians. This is her first year working with the Powwow Committee, and she is really excited to be involved. Meghan plans to major in Anthropology, and she hopes to pursue a career in tribal law and public health.


ANAAY Board members not shown: Hannah Selwyn ’20 (ANAAY Vice President), Elliot Wailoo ’21 (ANAAY Secretary),  and Chase Warren ’20 (ANAAY Hospitality Coordinator).

Powwow Committee Members not shown: Matthew Motylenski ’20, Anna Smist ’21, and Connor Smith.

And of course we would like to thank the NACC Administration, Dean Fayard and Assistant Director Laronal, for all of their help in making the Powwow a reality!